AA6YQ Wins ARRL Technical Innovation Award

Dave Bernstein, AA6YQThe ARRL has chosen Dave Bernstein, AA6YQ, of Wayland, Massachusetts, as the recipient of the 2008 ARRL Technical Innovation Award. The ARRL board voted unanimously at its July 18-19, 2008 board of directors meeting to select AA6YQ for the prestigious annual award.

According to the meeting minutes, “Mr. Bernstein has written and published the DXLab Suite of Programs for Radio Amateurs that he has placed in the public domain for free use and collaboration. A world-class DXer in his own right, he was one of the earliest logging-program authors to integrate functions for ARRL’s Logbook of the World and programs from other developers. His DXLab suite consists of eight programs that cover every aspect of station operation which he supports in a fashion that rivals or exceeds commercial applications and companies. He goes beyond simply supporting DXLab and mentors users in other aspects of programming and Amateur Radio.”

Dave Bernstein, AA6YQ; photo courtesy www.qrz.com

Leave a Reply